Arizona workers compensation insurance is required by law in Arizona and every state. Some worker exemptions exist, so you’ll want to check with your state to find out if coverage is mandatory for your business.
Choosing to forgo workers’ comp coverage puts your business at high financial risk. Not only can you face a lawsuit for workplace injuries, but you’ll likely be fined for breaking the law.
Keep in mind, workers’ comp insurance protects not only your employees, but your small business too.
For example, if your insurance is compliant with state law, an employee who receives benefits can’t sue you for their injuries or lost wages.
They can, however, sue you for things that aren’t covered under the workers’ comp portion of your policy. Employer’s liability insurance is also included in your policy to pay for court costs and legal fees if you’re involved in such a lawsuit.
How much does workers’ compensation insurance cost?
In 2017, the national average monthly cost for workers’ compensation insurance through the Progressive Advantage ® Business Program was $192. Remember, this is only an average. Your rate will depend on specific qualities of your business including your state, payroll and claims history.
What is Workers Compensation Insurance?
Workers compensation insurance protects your employees and your business from work-related accidents, illnesses, and even death. Nearly every state requires that employers have insurance to cover medical costs and lost wages for workers who are injured or become ill on the job. If you don’t carry workers compensation insurance, you could be liable for these costs, and be subject to fines or penalties by the state.
Workplace injuries happen even in the safest of workspaces. Even if your employee has health insurance, you are responsible for their medical costs if they suffer a job-related injury or illness. In addition, the worker is entitled to a percentage of their regular wages during the time that they are unable to work due to their injury or illness. These costs are covered by workers compensation insurance.
If you don’t have insurance, you will have to pay these costs out of pocket.
How Much is Workman’s Comp Insurance?
In most states, the cost of Workman’s Comp insurance can vary between insurance companies as they compete for customers. Despite the variability, all insurance companies base Workers’ Compensation premiums on the amount of payroll an employer has as well as how dangerous the work is.
Some larger employers will be impacted by their past claims experience with premium credits for low claim experience and increased premiums for those with more historical claims.
How to Get Workers’ Compensation Insurance
The cost of Workman’s Comp insurance is calculated based on a rate charged per $100 of payroll. Rates vary by state as well as based on the type of work employees are engaged in and the businesses claims history. Though many business-specific elements are factored into an actual premium calculation, this simple formula is the basis for determining the cost workers’ compensation premiums.